Sally Bosco

Author of Dark Fiction

Planning a Halloween Party (in 1911)

Sally Bosco:

This post by Patrick Keller about a Halloween party in 1911 caught my imagination. It’s a fun read about celebrating my favorite holiday in a bygone era. I can picture myself there somehow. I have an urge to spin it off into a horror story.

Originally posted on The Big Séance:

As many of you are no doubt planning themes for Halloween get-togethers next month, I thought maybe Ms. Ruby Ross Goodnow could help you plan. Actually, the party below, held on “Hallowe’en” at “eight o’ clock” in 1911, was also meant to be a housewarming party, for a brand new home, perhaps a bungalow or craftsman like the one pictured below. I found this article, originally published in the October 1911 issue of The Delineator, a few years ago and I just love it! (Note that a yearly subscription was $1. Sweet!) I’m considering planning a Halloween get together myself, and using this retro article as a starting point for a turn of the century theme!

 

The cover of the October 1911 issue of Delineator.

The cover of the October 1911 issue of The Delineator .

 

From the October 1911 issue of The Delineator:

___________________________________

Entertainment in October

Conducted by Ruby Ross Goodnow

Mrs. Goodnow will…

View original 592 more words

6 responses to “Planning a Halloween Party (in 1911)

  1. Patrick Keller September 15, 2013 at 10:04 pm

    Ohh thank you, Sally! I’ve been wanting to share this for a year. :-) I couldn’t wait any longer. I somehow pictured this as being in the “Meet Me In St. Louis” house… even though that’s a little earlier.

  2. Matt September 15, 2013 at 10:21 pm

    Cool stuff. It would make for a great story.

  3. lexacain September 16, 2013 at 5:43 am

    Clicked the link and really enjoyed the article. I commented and mentioned you (though the comment didn’t appear yet…). Thanks for the info. Have a great week, Sally! :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 865 other followers

