Sally Bosco

Author of Dark Fiction

The Cellar Door Anthology and My Fascination with Weird Architecture

I’m just realizing that I’ve never written a post about the “Cellar Door Anthology” in which one of my stories is published. Edited by Shawna L. Bernard, the book is a compilation of tales of beauty and terror about what may lie beyond the cellar door.

Cellar DoorI have a fascination with weird architecture that started when I read The House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski, and it grew when I read the stories of H.P. Lovecraft.

I wanted to write something involving weird architecture for this anthology. My result was my short story, “What Grows In Between.”

My inspiration for this story came from doing research on the Dupli House, which is located in Marbach, Germany. It was in disrepair and had to be torn down. Here’s a photo of the original house.

Dupli house orig

The architectural firm of J. Mayer Arquitectos took on the task of building a new modern house in the footprint of the old house. Actually, they came up with a new footprint by duplication and rotation of the out line of the old house:

Rotation

The result is breathtaking:

cellar door house

I thought, what if the spirit of the old house wanted to come through the framework of the new. That idea gave birth to my story, “What Grows In Between.”

Here’s the synopsis: Emily and Daniel have ditched high-powered jobs for a more low-key life. Though Daniel actually prefers more traditional architecture, Emily falls in love with an ultra-modern house that is situated out in the woods in Massachusetts. They’ve been waiting all their lives for this. He’s going to start painting and she’s going to do freelance architecture from home. That was the plan, but when the house grows an old-style cellar door, they start to realize that it has motives of its own.

The following is an excerpt from a review written by Dr. Robert Curran, psychologist and author of several works on folklore and the paranormal:

“There are some places in my mind where I seldom go. They are rooms of imagination, impression and memory that are often better left undisturbed because they are full of old fears and terrors which still have the power to grip me. They are better off left to moulder behind locked doors. This anthology tells me that I’m not alone in this respect.

“There are too many stories and poems within this anthology to review comprehensively–and I’m not going to try–but each one reflects the horror of some dark world, lying around the foot of the descending cellar steps or up in that shuttered attic. And they are brilliantly illustrated in paintings and drawings which are evocative of each tale.

“This is definitely a book for the winter, when the nights are dark and the wind makes strange houses through the house. It is a book to be savoured and shuddered at. It will take you to places in your mind where you really shouldn’t go.”

Cellar Door Anthology – Link to Kindle

Cellar Door Anthology – Link to paperback

2 responses to “The Cellar Door Anthology and My Fascination with Weird Architecture

  1. lexacain December 29, 2013 at 8:12 am

    The story (and anthology) sound fabulous. I was always scared of the cellar in my family’s home. And I loved the quoted review. Great job!

    I’m wishing you a happy, healthy, and prosperous 2014!

  2. Sally Bosco December 29, 2013 at 2:55 pm

    Thanks, Lexa! Yeah, I was always afraid of the cellar door in our house in Connecticut. I’d sit there and stare at it for hours, sure that some monster would emerge. Happy Holidays!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 865 other followers

