Sally Bosco

Author of Dark Fiction

Guest Blog Post from Rachell Nichole

Hey Sally, thanks for having me stop by your blog. I’m very happy to be here. And hello to all you readers out there.

First a little bio and introductory info and then it’s off to the races…

My name is Rachell Nichole and I am an author of erotic romance. When I put out a call to come visit some blogs, Sally was one of the first to respond. I was so excited to stop by. And Sally gave me carte blanche to come and dazzle you all with my wit (or try at least). So I’ll talk a bit about me, about my book, and then about the craft of writing.

I’ve been writing for a lot of years, though I started my first novel about six years ago. I love books, I love words, and I love creating stories. I just sold my first book, An Affair Across Times Square to Loose Id. It’s due out August 21. Here’s a little tease about the book.

 

Layla Morgan is tired of getting into trouble, and getting hurt. And she fears her wild nature is going to strike yet again. But maybe this time, she’s finally met the guy that can stand close enough to touch her inner flames, and not get burned. The man across Times Square seems enthralled by her wildness instead of scared in the face of it. He can’t seem to look away as she shows him just how much fun she can have… with herself.

After one glance of silky skin and talented fingers, Tyler Lachlan doesn’t stand a chance of resisting the delicious distraction of the mystery woman from the Marietta Hotel. He’s sure there’s more to her than her sultry voice and mahogany thighs, but he doesn’t know if he’s willing to risk his career to find out.

Could what began as a voyeuristic affair across Times Square develop into something more?

 

Intrigued? I hope so. Check out my website at www.RachellNichole.com for more info about the book. It will be available at www.loose-id.com on August 21.

 

And now for something completely different… A little bit about craft.

An Affair Across Times Square was what we in the writing world call a NaNo book. Every November, writers around the world get together and agree to write 50,000 words in 30 days in the NaNoWriMo challenge.

Nano is all about not stopping the forward momentum, getting words on the page, and writing the damn book. This method really works for me, but it may not work for everyone. But here’s a little more about the method and why it works for me.

You can either pre-plot the book or do a loose outline, or just start from page one. When you do NaNo through their website, you use the site for inspiration, for support, for reassurance and positive reinforcement. As far as strategy goes, the idea behind NaNo is that we can’t fix pages that aren’t written. You have to get the bones of the story down before you can fill them in and layer the complexities.

If you’re interested in NaNoing on your own, or doing a practice run so to speak, you can set aside 30 days and set a goal. For NaNo, it’s 50,000, which breaks down to 1,667 words a day. That’s about five double-spaced pages. I’m not a daily writer, I never really tried to be, because that doesn’t work for me. So normally I would sit and write 3,000-4,000 in a day and then not write for three days, and then do it all over again. If 1,667 words is too many a day, start with a goal of 40,000 words in 30 days and write more like 1,200 words a day.

The biggest benefit Nanoing is that you have to turn off your internal editor, because you can’t get the words in if you have to go back and change things every time you sit down to write. The other benefit of the daily (or every few days) writing is that you stay immersed in the book. They also do a Camp Nano, which is in June and August, if you’re looking for the writing community now. Check out http://campnanowrimo.org/ for more info.

I’m NaNoing a holiday book this time and my deadline is 50,000 by August 15 (I started July 18 or so). If you’d like to join me, pick up your keyboard or your pen & paper. I’ll be posting word count updates on www.Facebook.com/RachellNichole and possibly my blog at www.DivasofDesire.blogspot.com so stop by if you’d like to compare word counts.

Thanks again for stopping by.

~ Rach

Sizzling Romantic Entanglements

www.RachellNichole.com

www.Facebook.com/RachellNichole

www.DivasofDesire.blogspot.com

4 responses to “Guest Blog Post from Rachell Nichole

  1. Jennifer July 26, 2012 at 5:04 pm

    How exciting that you’ve sold a NaNoWriMo novel! It’s such an inspiration to those of us who do that craziness every year hoping to come up with a good, marketable story! Congratulations!

  2. Rachell Nichole July 26, 2012 at 5:59 pm

    Thanks so much Jennifer. Don’t give up. Somewhere inside is a Nano novel just bursting to get out and become published!

  3. Nona Raines July 27, 2012 at 1:24 am

    Hi Rachell, I tried NaNo once and it was fun! Though the manuscript really wasn’t worth submitting, it felt good to know I could sit down and write a set number of pages every day. Looking forward to your book!

  4. Rachell Nichole July 27, 2012 at 3:27 am

    Thanks Nona.
    For me, it was definitely a dirty draft. I had to finish the book in December/January because 50,000 wasn’t enough to finish the story line. It ended up at 87,000. I rewrote it in February and March and submitted it in April. It was definitely not fit for human eyes (other than mine). Maybe revisit your nano book at some point. If it has the bones to be great and you don’t mind revisions, it might be worth rewriting. 🙂
    And thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

