Sally Bosco

Author of Dark Fiction

Day One of my Three-Day Writing Binge

Sylvia PlathThis is day one of my three-day writing binge for my new novel, The Thin People. This novel is my homage to Sylvia Plath. (The Thin People is a famous poem of hers.) That, combined with my love of alternate dimensions, doppelgangers and houses that have different dimensions on the outside than on the inside will make this an entertaining write for me. This is also exciting for me because it’s my official return to horror! Yay!

Here’s my blurb: A failed anorexic who’s obsessed with Sylvia Plath finds herself living out the details of Plath’s poem, “The Thin People,” when she discovers shadow people from another dimension coming through a vortex in her backyard.

I’ve completed my mental preparation, which is to get psyched and think generally positive thoughts.

I’ve completed my writing preparation, which is:

  • Come up with ideas for a story.
  • Research, but don’t get bogged down
  • Create a log line
  • Keep a story bible with character sketches, locations and important facts.
  • Write the back story.
  • Write biographies for the main characters.
  • Figure out your opening and closing images.
  • Outline the story in detail. This means that all of my scenes are outlined.
  • Write the first chapter.

I’ve done some of the physical prep such as stocking up on food, but I didn’t go as crazy on the cleaning and organizing part, finding it not that necessary.

Doing a writing binge when I’m just beginning a novel gives me a jump-start, and lets me feel as though I’ve accomplished something quickly.

But now I need to stop blogging and start writing!

4 responses to “Day One of my Three-Day Writing Binge

  1. hypnosisindallas February 26, 2013 at 1:29 am

    You make it sounds soooo easy, I’ve been working on a book for about one year now…thinking I’ll do the binge approach! Binging works for everything else that ails. 🙂

  2. Sally Bosco February 26, 2013 at 2:10 am

    Well, you just have to commit to it. Plus, getting the outline done is half the battle. Is this Valerie? Thanks for posting!

  3. lexacain February 27, 2013 at 2:24 am

    This sounds like a wonderful premise! I’m so impressed with how much preparation you’ve done. (I’m outlining, too, but have gotten confused and bogged down for a few months.) Keep those positive thoughts going – good luck Sally! 🙂

    • Sally Bosco February 27, 2013 at 2:55 am

      Thanks, Lexa! Try the book, “Save the Cat,” by Blake Snyder. It will make your outlining so much easier. I also have a template I use that I could email to you if you’d like. Believe me, if I can do it, you can do it. Thanks for stopping by, Lexa!

Leave a Reply

